The natural environment is one of the Northern Territory's greatest assets and we are fortunate in having some of Australia's most beautiful natural landscapes with extraordinary diversity and rich in 50,000 years of indigenous culture.

The Northern Territory Parks and Wildlife Commission manages over 85 protected areas on behalf of the Northern Territory Government. These include National Parks, Nature Parks, Reserves (Historic, Conservation, Coastal and Hunting), Conservation Areas and Recreation Areas.

Permits are required for conducting various activities within protected areas, activities include;  social functions where reservation of specific areas is required, remote area camping, commercial filming and photography, keeping of pets, collection of flora and fauna and undertaking other commercial activity.

These permits are issued under the Territory Parks and Wildlife Conservation Act 2006 and the Territory Parks and Wildlife Conservation By-Laws.

The permit system helps the Northern Territory Parks and Wildlife Commission monitor, protect and preserve our parks and reserves and marine areas for future generations.

Note: If you intend to conduct any activity that is different to a normal recreational activity and you are unsure if a permit is required you should contact the NT Parks and Wildlife Commission’s Permits Office for further information on Ph: 08) 8999 4486 or email: .